Teriyaki Noodles

30 May

It’s WEDDING SUNDAY!!!!! I don’t know if I’m the only freak of nature that is this obsessed with Wedding Sunday but I pretty much look forward to this day all week.

And tonight is finally the season premiere of not one but TWO shows- Bridezillas and all time fav My Fair Wedding!!! I may or may not be obsessed with David Tutera but i mean honestly what can’t this guy do? He’s incredible!

ahhh how can life get much better :)? The only thing that’s missing right now is my giraffe but he will be visiting soon enough so we can go to the beach and sloth around together. I didn’t think it would be this hard to be apart but I think we are so used to being together that we don’t really know what to do with ourselves when the other isn’t around.

aww how cute!?!

Anyways, I’ve really been wanting to try a kelp noodle dish lately just to mix up my daily salad routine but haven’t been to the store/don’t really know where to look for kelp noodles. So instead I turned to my handy dandy notebook (jk Ani’s Raw Food Essentials) and made her teriyaki noodles for dinner last night.

except i subbed the kelp noodles for carrot “linguine” noodles and added spinach to my sauce for more greeeeeens. I just peeled one carrot with a potato peeler to make my noodles.

I was surprised by how much it felt like i was really eating noodles! I didn’t feel like i was missing out on carbs at all. Only problem was that it didn’t last long enough on my plate :). I will definitely be making more carrot noodle dishes and trying out different sauces…. I’m thinking spaghetti might be next.

And for breakfast, my usual shake

I don’t know about you, but I like something to chew on in my food. I find that it slows me down while I’m eating and allows me to enjoy my shakes longer so I like to add just a little bit of quinoa.

I don’t really measure when i make this so these are all approximates but in case you’re interested….

Chewy Smoothie (any recommendations for a better name?)

1/8 cup uncooked quinoa -> (i usually cook 1/4 cup the night before so i have 2 servings worth on hand)

2 handfuls of spinach

1/3 cup of cucumber

1 scoop sun warrior vanilla protein powder

1/2 frozen banana

1/2 cup almond milk

3/4 cup of frozen blueberries

blend and enjoy!

And don’t forget WEDDING SUNDAY tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 Responses to “Teriyaki Noodles”

  1. Lauren May 30, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    David Tutera is so amazing! And I loooove me some Bridezillas. Have you ever watched Rich Bride Poor Bride?
    Those noodles look yummy too… I like making zucchini noodles! :)

    • bananasforbananas May 31, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

      oh yes lol trust me if there is a wedding show on tv i have seen it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

