day one is done

9 Aug

talk about a long day!

Overview:

Up at 8 to be there at 9. One hour lunch break and finish at 5. I swear it’s like I work a 9-5!!!

Oh and then after rush stuff I ran to the bank then wal-mart then the apartment office (to bother them some MORE) then to the gym and was finally able to shower and eat. phew.

Now the deets:

This morning I tried out a version of HEAB’s overnight protein chia oats because I wasn’t sure how long I would be at the house and if we’d be allowed a lunch break so I wanted something that would hold me over.

I used 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 c water, 1 T chia seeds, raisins, cacao nibs, and 1/2 T cocoa powder. Then in the morning I added a little less than a scoop of sun warrior. It was delicious and filling, thanks HEAB!

Then you’ll never believe what I had for lunch. My first real fast food for months….the crepevine.

For those of you who are unfamiliar, the crepevine is a tallahassee eatery that makes all types of crepes from desserts to lunch to breakfast.

Exhibit A:

Exhibit B:

So what did I order?

They have a make your own option so I got every veggie they had except jalepenos plus salt n peppa.

True, this is probably the healthiest crepe they’ve ever made and also true that it probably wasn’t that bad for me, but I’m going to admit something to you guys, it took alot for me to finally come to terms with it after I ate it.

Besides the fact that crepes aren’t vegan, There’s just something about the fact that it was fast food and that I didn’t know the ingredients that irked me. I know it shouldn’t but it did and I’m trying to learn to come to terms with not eating perfect all the time.

So why did I eat it? Because not only was I hungry, but I only brought a larabar (which I knew wouldn’t be healthy to ONLY have that for lunch) and I didn’t drive so I was at the mercy of where my friends wanted to eat and I hate being the weirdo that won’t eat normal food or the nagger who never wants to eat where everyone else wants to. So I sucked it up and made the best of the situation.

The whole time in the back of my head I just kept remembering all of my fav bloggers who are some of my role models for healthy eating and kept remembering how they indulge too and aren’t always perfect with their eating but they are ok with it because they are also happy with themselves.

So instead of dwelling on it I simply ate how I normally would for the rest of the day and had the larabar after sorority schtuff and a bowl of quinoa and veggies for dinner

all mashed up

that’s the good stuff

Apartment news: My walls were painted today!!! AND I’m getting new carpets….I’m so happyyyy!!!!!! I also found out that the reason my carpets are so messed up now is because the girl before had a dog (our apartment complex doesn’t allow animals) which makes all the scratch marks make a lot more sense. But there is also a red stain and a burn in the carpet from her hair straightener!!! urgh oh well i get new carpet :)

and here is my partial workout schedule from july as promised! sorry it was in excel and i didn’t really know how to insert it in here

WinCalendar

Text Box: WinCalendar

July 2010
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
arms chest shoulders
abs
yoga yoga cardio
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
back legs arms chest
abs
cardio cardio
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
shoulders back legs arms chest
cardio
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
shoulders back legs arms shoulders back
cardio
3 Responses to “day one is done”

  1. Michelle August 9, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    That’s awesome that things are getting settled in your new apartment. Well, a new carpet and paint! That’s really great.

    That is a very healthy crepe. I didn’t like the sandwich that I bought from QFC today because I didn’t know exactly what was in it, where the (dry!) turkey was from and so on. I ate it anyways, and found it probably healthier than a take-out option.

  2. Pure2Raw Twins August 10, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    Congrats again on the apartment. It is hard trying to eat out with friends and not being the one who wants go eat somewhere else that is a little bit more healthy. I understand and you handled the situation great! Sometimes you just have to go with the flow and just enjoy it ;)

  3. Heather Eats Almond Butter August 10, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Sounds like my kind of fast food. Way to just go with the flow and enjoy a quick lunch with your friends. I know it’s difficult and hard – trust me, I get it! Normally, I have my day of eats planned out by the time breakfast is over, and knowing that my lunch was in the hand of others would probably stress me out a bit. However, I’m learning that even if we don’t eat the best possible option 100% of the time, that is okay, and your veggie filled crepe sounded like a great option! Think of all the vitamins and minerals you crammed in there. :)

    Happy to hear you overnight chia oats were a success. Bet the bowl was so yummy with raisins – I love how they plumpify in liquid. I must remember that for my next bowl!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

