Krispy Kale Khips

5 Jun

I can’t believe I forgot but Carson reminded me that yesterday was our 7 month anniversary (we celebrate every anniversary lol). At least we had a cute date night. After the movie we laid down to watch Boondock Saints before calling it a night (we’re kind of movie buffs). Willem Dafoe is a bamf btw.

Some of today’s eats:

I started my day with a cup of coffee- black with a little cinnamon and mesquite because I’m hardcore like that 😉

then a little later I had a strawberry smoothie which I have been absolutely loving lately

strawberries, blueberries, vanilla sun warrior, spinach, cucumber, ice

Carson had his usual= a whole wheat english muffin with strawberry jam and an Ice Coffee

For Lunch he finished off the leftover sushi

and snacked on some organic tortilla chips and a protein shake-> he’s a growing boy. Sometimes i feel bad when he’s  visiting me because we don’t keep his usual eats in our house but the good thing is it’s like a little detox and he eats really healthy for a couple of days 🙂

I ate carrots with some hummus I made from the leftover white bean salad

white bean salad and artichoke hearts blended together= yum!

and half a sweet potato with the sweetest green beans EVER. I had no idea how good raw green beans were until I spontaneously decided to get some since snap peas were so expensive. what a good decision!

*******

Besides the hummus I also decided to use up the kale that was lingering in my fridge. I decided to try kale for the first time a couple days ago, since everyone seems to enjoy it. I stuck it in my green smoothie and boy was that a mistake! The texture was soooooo disgusting I had to throw it out after forcing down a couple gulps (for ME to not drink it says ALOT). It tasted like poop/barf horrible and I was literally going to give up on kale forever when I decided to at least try it a different way since maybe blending it was the problem. I have seen people enjoying kale chips (like Averie’s) all over the blog world and Ani even has a recipe in her book so I decided that was how i would prepare it.

these. are. so. freakin. good!!!!!!!!!

Omg you seriously don’t know what you’re missing and I’m telling you that you MUST go to your kitchen and make these now. Everyone says they taste exactly like real chips but you know how people exxagerate so I wasn’t expecting much but I’m telling you they literally made a *CRUNCH* when I bit into one, Amazing!

I Didn’t use a recipe though because I was in the mood for some specific flavors so I decided to make my own recipe to flavor them. And good thing for you I wrote it down

Kale Chips

1/4 cup water

2 T nutritional yeast

1/2 T olive oil

1/2 T liquid aminos (or Nama Shoyu/ Soy sauce)

1/2 T lemon juice

1/4 cup chopped mushrooms

1/4 cup chopped tomato

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

1 clove garlic

1/2 inch nub of ginger

pinch of salt and cayenne pepper

blend in food processor/blender. rip kale into small pieces and put in large bowl. pour blended mixture on top and toss. dehydrate or bake on lowest setting. enjoy!

If we didn’t have dinner later I could def down the whole bowl in a second. so good.

Leave a Reply

