Go USA!

12 Jun

Hey everyone!

I don’t know about you but it is world cup fever over here! And since I could care less I’m catching up on blogging lol

Sorry soccer fans. Even though I’m brazilian and it’s in my blood, I’m not much of a sports watcher. I will say the one sport I can watch is volleyball but that’s just because I used to play so I’m actually connected to it. What’s your fav sport?

Besides a lot of tv watching/cuddling there isn’t to much to report on the homefront (especially since I left my sim card for my camera at home, Sorry!). But I promise as soon as I’m home there will be plenty of foodie posts!

Something that’s been on my mind though-

One of my friends gained some weight in college and now she is trying to eat healthier and workout which I am all for. She’s already lost 1o of the 15 pounds she gained and she looks great but she never stops talking about her weight and how she wants to lose more. Because I have had such an emotional battle with my body image and finding acceptance with myself I find it hard to listen to her go on and on about her insecurities. I have finally learned to block out all thoughts of calorie counting and saying “I look fat” and so when I listen to her it starts to bring up my old insecurities. My problem is that I feel like a horrible friend if I can’t listen to her and help her but I’m also afraid that it is going to take me back to a place where I am no longer comfortable in my own skin. Have you ever dealt with such a situation and if so what did you do?

Have a great day! Go USA!

4 Responses to “Go USA!”

  1. Kathryn June 12, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Hey i just discovered that i love readings blogs and yours is really great. I relate to you!! I lost 30 pounds and there’s always something in your head saying i don’t ever want to gain that back. Just don’t let it get to you, just continue what you are doing to stay healthy. Don’t change any of your ways or thoughts about yourself. You’re gorgeous and she might just be having a hard time accepting herself and that doesn’t mean you can’t accept yourself. Great blog (maybe i’ll start one one day as well 🙂

    • bananasforbananas June 12, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

      thank you so much! I know that it’s crazy to just start doubting myself but you can’t help it sometimes when you’re surrounded by that mindset. But don’t worry I had some serious talks with my boyfriend and I’m learning to be there for her while still maintaining my healthy mindset. Thank you so much for reading! and good luck if you decide to start blogging 🙂

  2. Lauren (Clean Eats in the Dirty South) June 12, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    bahaha i see you have the same layout as me now. 🙂 i like, i like
    i’m not much of a sports person, either. i’m not very competitive. i know exactly what you’re going through with your friend dilemma, though. i’m still really unstable when it comes to just talking about weight/calories/food with other people, and whenever i talk to someone who’s not comfortable with their own body it makes me sooo uncomfortable with mine!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pictures! « Bananas for bananas - June 13, 2010

    […] And as promised here is the picture of the lady at the beach from this post. […]

Leave a Reply

