Diet Rules

23 Jun

You know how sometimes you crave something so much it’s all you can think about?

Well I’ve been dreaming about a veggie sandwich and I finally fulfilled my craving

behold

this had- spinach, tomato, sprouts, avocado, spicy brown mustard, and garlic pepper (no msg)

I made my open faced sangwich with this new bread I’m absolutely obsessed with

I have never tried millet before but it was gluten-free and fruit juice sweetened so I thought I would give it a try. I love discovering new things that I don’t know how I never had in my life. Let me just tell you

Millet bread+ almond butter= soooo good

this bread is kind of cakey and thick so when I toasted it and topped it with the nut butter it was like cake

So I’m sure you guys have probably been wondering what exactly are my diet rules, so let me explain:

  • I’m a raw vegan. I say this because it makes up the bulk of my diet and I don’t believe you have to be perfect to hold the label. Although I must say I hate labels but for the purposes of explaining my eating philosophy I will indulge you with labels.
  • I’m gluten-free. I don’t believe gluten is good for the body or that grains are necessary in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Not only did our ancestors not eat it, being that it is usually highly processed and enriched, but my digestion has also improved since I have cut it out. I URGE you to read this article on why grains are unhealthy
  • I’m soy-free. “Soybeans, as provided by nature, are suitable for human consumption.” To put it simply, with all the gmo controversy out there I would rather stay away from any modified or processed foods and get my nutrients from whole raw foods.
  • I also try to limit my nut intake. Although a raw vegan diet is pretty low in calories to begin with, that doesn’t mean you can go crazy in the fat department. Remember everything is better in moderation.
  • I don’t eat preservatives or chemicals. I would hope this would be evident from the whole RAW vegan thing but I just thought I would clarify. This is honestly one of the biggest and best things to eliminate from your diet. If you can’t pronounce an ingredient or don’t know what it is, don’t eat it. As simple as that. I promise if you do this one simple thing you will automatically start to feel cleaner and healthier.

I hope this helps to clarify some things, but remember no one is perfect and you should stick to the diet that feels right for you. Coming soon- What are some of my diet staples?

Giveaway alert!!: Vega Smoothie To Go Giveaway

4 Responses to “Diet Rules”

  1. paijery June 23, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    Love your blog, love the sandwich and love the diet rules!

    • bananasforbananas June 23, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      Thank you! I was recently thinking of giving up because I felt like no one was reading, but I’m sticking with it because this is something I love. You have no idea how much your kind words mean to me 🙂

  2. Lindsey Schneider February 25, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    Hey Bianka! I stumbled upon your blog when looking for nutritional info on Crepe Vine. (I too was suckered into going -_-) Anyway, I am recently trying to transform into a raw food lifestyle. I’m finding this extremely difficult while in college and working! Would you post a list of what your grocery list for the week would look like? Every blog has indepth recipes for raw foodists and quite simply I don’t have the time to make all this food working and going to school! It’s very inspirational to find another college student who manages to live a healthy but strict lifestyle. Any help you can give to simplify this transition would be greatly appreciated!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trying new things « Bananas for bananas - June 24, 2010

    […] tomorrow- A  post on My Diet Staples and don’t forget to check out my previous post on my diet rules Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Disappointment and Shout-OutsHealth […]

Leave a Reply

