Trying new things

24 Jun

Yesterday was a day of trying all new things

Instead of my usual green monster + salad + VOO combo, i had something new for EVERY meal including snacks. I didn’t really do this intentionally but sometimes I wonder what I’m missing out on by sticking to my faves and not trying new things. I guess I’m guilty of “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”

I started my morning with an inspiration from HEAB and April by making a protein cake which I am renaming to

Instant Cinnamon Bun

I made mine a little different (of course). In my mug I mixed together:

1/2 T mesquite

1/2 T cinnamon

1 scoop vanilla sun warrior

1 tsp chia seeds

1/4 cup almond milk (or enough to moisten it to desired consistency)

1/2 tsp baking powder

handful of raisins

before microwaving

After about 1 1/2 minutes in the microwave, I let it cool a little then loosened the cake from the mug and plopped it onto my plate. Then dressed it like the girls by cutting it in half and smearing almond butter on it. It tasted like a freakin’ cinnamon bun!

No crumb left behind!

I couldn’t believe how good and easy this was! Even though I try to avoid cooking food and really hate microwaves, this was a treat that I had to try and will definitly be making again whenever I want to treat myself 🙂

Then for dinner Vegan Mac n’ Cheeze from the lovely Angela. As soon as I saw it on her blog I knew I wanted to make it but as usual I returned back to my stand by salad creations. When I saw that she had made it recently on her blog I knew couldn’t put it off much longer.

Since I didn’t have my green monster this morning I had to put greens somewhere so into the mac n cheeze they went! I also added tomato and sweet potato and instead of couscous I used quinoa. I was starving for this meal so this definitely hit the spot. I love trying new things!!!

Now for dessert I was still VERY full from the sweet potato (I cut a few slices into the mac n cheeze then ended up eating the rest of it too!) so I wanted something light. Even though banana soft serve isn’t new to me, it was all I was craving and Ashley’s just looked too good to not make 😉 Bananas for the win!

banana+ cacao nibs + better n’ butter

Thus concludes my day of glorious eats. Any suggestion for future good eats?

For tomorrow- A  post on My Diet Staples and don’t forget to check out my previous post on my diet rules 🙂

5 Responses to “Trying new things”

  1. squigglefloey June 24, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    Congrats on trying all those new things! They look delicious!! Esp. the banana soft serve. I need to try that sometime 🙂

    xoxo.

    • bananasforbananas June 24, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

      Omgsh you will be blown away! Just make sure you don’t give up on processing them until the mixture is light and fluffy and ice creamy 🙂

  2. april June 25, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    The instant cinnamon bun looks so yummy! I’ve never had mesquite, what does it taste like??

  3. MarathonVal July 3, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    I’ve still yet to try mesquite… looks delicious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sticky Finger Plant — Oh She Glows - July 13, 2010

    […] Couscous and cheeze and here […]

Leave a Reply

