Diet Staples

25 Jun

So now that you’ve read about my diet rules here are some things that I tend to eat a lot of:

Fruits

(Hahaha I saw this and just had to do it as a tribute to Gina’s flasher banana)

You name it and I will probably eat it. I don’t think me and fruit have ever disagreed (especially me and the nanners :)). Some fruit I ALWAYS have on hand though include- bananas, blueberries, strawberries, apples, and raisins.

Veggies


I love my greens! I try to include greens in at LEAST two of my meals. I just don’t feel complete or like I got enough nutrients if I don’t (idk if I’m weird but wutevs). I eat almost all my veggies raw except for the occasional steamed broccoli or baked sweet potato but I think those are really the only exceptions. My veggie staples- Spinach, carrots, tomato, and sweet potato.

Nuts


I add these to smoothies, make dessert out of them, or smear them on anything and everything. My staples are- almonds, walnuts, cashews, tahini and almond butter.

Protein Powder


Before I went vegan I used to use whey protein everyday. But after reading several contradictory articles on the benefits/side effects I decided to shell out the money for the god of all protein powders sun warrior. Not only is it vegan but it is also raw and has a good flavor. Although I think Americans eat way too much protein, I do realize that my diet doesn’t provide a lot of opportunities, so I have a scoop of this everyday.

Superfoods/ Other

I rely on powders to flavor pretty much everything I eat. Not only do they taste great but they are also nutrient dense. My staples: Nutritional yeast, cacao powder, cacao nibs, liquid aminos, mesquite, and chia seeds.

Grains/ Seeds/Beans


Although I limit my intake of these I lurvvvee me some carbs so they are definitely necessary. My staples are oats, quinoa, sunflower seeds, kidney beans, garbanzo beans, and gluten-free breads (i like millet but that’s all I’ve tried so far).

*Remember these are just some things I keep in my kitchen and are by no means the only foods out there but maybe this will help you discover something you didn’t even know existed or hadn’t given enough of a chance.

What’s an unusual food that has now become part of your diet staples? I would say mine is chia seeds. Between using them to make chia eggs in vegan baking to making awesome puddings and VOO, I pretty much use them everyday!

Leave a Reply

