Changes

27 Jun

So there have been some changes going on and some things I haven’t been telling you so this is me spilling the beans:

First off, although I am happy with the way I look right now, I’ve lost more weight. I haven’t really been telling you guys everything that’s been going on lately but basically not only is Carson concerned but so am I. I only lost around 3 pounds but basically the point is that I HAVEN’T been trying to lose weight, so if I don’t up my calories I could end up continuing to drop to an unhealthy weight.

That being said I also really want to build muscle so I’ve been researching a lot lately and made a few changes to my fitness/ nutrition plan.

Instead of doing cardio everyday I have decided to switch my workouts between cardio and strength every other day. I’m hoping this will not only help me put back on the weight but also help me build lean muscle. For today’s workout I did 30 min. interval training on the elliptical as well as abs so tomorrow will be my first day of pure strength training. Since I’m kind of a noob, Carson is going to help me train- update on how the workout is tomorrow!

Onto the nutrition part:

Not only have I been super conscious about the amount and type of food I’ve been eating lately (making sure to eat enough calories, protein, and fats) but I’ve also changed how I eat. Instead of opting for 3 large meals a day I’ve started to eat around 6 smaller meals throughout the day, about every 2-3 hours. Not only does this keep me from losing energy, but it also boosts your metabolism and helps to build more muscle. I’m also making sure to eat at certain times of the day- right when I wake up, right before my workout, and right after my workout. I’m already liking the smaller meals every 2-3 hours so I’ll keep you up to date on how the diet is working out!

Instead of boring you with my typical eats I’ll just show you dinner

I made 1/4 cup quinoa but I toasted it for a little before I started to cook it. I think it added a nice flavor but I added curry and cumin so it was hard to tell after all the spices. I also cooked it with carrots, red onion, garlic, and red kidney beans.

then I put kale on top of the hot quinoa to warm it without cooking it. Gotta get those greens in!

It was so warming and delicious…I think even the fitnessista would approve of my curry 🙂

One Response to “Changes”

  1. paijery June 29, 2010 at 4:38 am #

    Good luck with the weight issues. I’m sure you will figure it out 🙂 Good for you for being so proactive!

    I want to eat that whole plate of quinoa!

Leave a Reply

