Almond Date Spread

18 Jul

I finished my raw almond butter and I’m having withdrawals 😦

and in an attempt to save some money, I’m refusing to buy a new jar until I move in a couple weeks.

So what’s a girl to do?

Why not try making my own?!?

ya…well that failed miserably. After reading a few how-to’s on making AB after I created a hard almond dough ball I learned that all I needed was so process a little longer and it would have formed the butta. However for prides sake I am going to blame my almonds and the fact that I soaked them and added water as the reason I don’t have drippy delicious AB in my fridge.

So I have a dough ball in my fridge… now what?

Well it wasn’t particularly tasty so I decided to try to turn it into a bar by adding some dates. Back in the food process it went and what came out was oh so good.

The dates made it a lot more spreadable, so I give you

Almond Date Spread


1.5 cups almonds (soaked for an hour)

6-10 dates (depending on how sweet you want it)

dash of cinnamon

– I processed the almonds until they formed into a dough ball, then remove from processor. Process dates until they are paste. Combine both in processor with cinnamon and your done!

And guess what I’m storing it in…

yup, old salsa jar. Man that salsa is good 🙂

And the perfect breakfast,

= Almond date spread + millet bread

Enjoy!

What’s your fav nut butter?

5 Responses to “Almond Date Spread”

  1. Michelle July 18, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    I love so many for so many different reasons I can’t choose a favorite nut butter.

  2. paijery July 19, 2010 at 2:23 am #

    This looks amazing! My fave nut butter is salt kissed cinnamon pecan butter. I need to make more STAT!

  3. Lori July 20, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    I’m just letting you know that this sounds ridiculously AMAZING. Seriously. Wow. Almond butter and dates are my downfall and making them into a spread- that’s just bad news for me! Thank you for sharing the recipe and I cannot wait to try this one out!

    • bananasforbananas July 20, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

      yeah…..this is basically dessert in a jar lol beware it’s addicting

Leave a Reply

