Quinoa Granola Cereal

19 Jul

I’ve officially made it my mission to finish the foods in my pantry and fridge before I stock up on more things. I know I’m always going on about cleaning out my fridge but I think it’s because for the first time in my life I’m buying my groceries and no one else is helping me eat the things I buy so I feel like I’m constantly scarfing food down so nothing goes bad! I guess that’s not too bad of a situation to find myself in 🙂

But now I have even more of an incentive because in 2 weeks i will once again be moving! AHHHHH

Geez, I really can’t wait for the school year to start so I will finally have a permanent residency.

So anyhooo, how am I going about eating everything that I have?

Enter Quinoa Granola Cereal!

(inspired by the edible perspective’s Quinoa Granola)

1 cup quinoa

1 cup water

1/2 cup almond milk

1 T cinnamon

3 T flax seeds

2.5 T raw agave

1/2 cup almonds (chopped/slivered would be even better)

1/2 cup raisins

– preheat oven to 350. Bring water to a boil then add quinoa and lower to a simmer. After about half the water evaporates add the almond milk. After cooking add the rest of the ingredients and mix. Grease a baking sheet and bake for 45 minutes, stirring the granola about every 15 minutes.

*make sure you don’t over bake because the quinoa becomes pretty hard*

This granola creates a crunchy, lightly sweetened and nutty granola. The only thing it’s missing is that it doesn’t create clusters but it’s still delish! I ate mine with a little almond milk for breakfast

btw has anyone seen strange sex on TLC? I was recently flipping through the channels and stumbled on this on and let me tell you, strange is definitely an understatement.

If you’ve seen it, what do you think about it? Let’s just say I was laughing and amazed the entire time lol

6 Responses to “Quinoa Granola Cereal”

  1. glutenfreemuse July 19, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I would have never thought of that!! I love Fiona’s Quinoa Granola, but never thought of making my own!! I think she uses quinoa flakes, but I bet that quinoa cooked would be perfect too. I will have to try this!

    • bananasforbananas July 20, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

      You must try it! I’ve actually become a little obsessed with it and can’t seem to stop eating it lol There’s just something about the crunch and chewiness of it that I love 🙂

  2. Michelle July 20, 2010 at 1:34 am #

    I haven’t seen the show but it sounds…um…interesting 😉 haha. Love the granola. I never thought to do that with quinoa.

    • bananasforbananas July 20, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

      watch it! trust me it’s crazy intriguing lol just as long as you don’t mind being weirded out

  3. glutenfreemuse July 20, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Hey Bianka,

    I’ve given you an award! Check it out at my blog!

    ~Alyssa

  4. Pure2raw twins July 20, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    This looks great. Love quinoa, especially for breakfast!

Leave a comment