cauliflower rice + pasta sauce

20 Jul

Hey guys!

So I know you are probably wondering what has happened with my fitness plan since I haven’t been talking about it. Don’t worry! All is well on the home front. I’ve been keeping up with the strength training and eating 5-6 meals a day.

I’m still really liking eating smaller meals often (mostly because I’m always bored and it gives me something to look forward too :)) but I have to say, I don’t like how full/bloated I’m feeling sometimes. I’m still trying to figure that one out.

The workouts are also going really well. I started logging my workouts on a calendar so I can keep track and make sure I don’t forget/slip up on my strength training. I really haven’t been doing any cardio at all though 😦 I’ve found that I’m really missing my cardio. It gives me so much energy and without the cardio I’m a lot more lethargic than I would like. But besides that minor downside I’m loving how strong I’m feeling and how I go to the gym “with purpose” now lol I know my exercises and what needs to get done and I do it! I feel like one of the guys 🙂 At the end of the month I’ll try and post my calendar for you or somehow tell you how my schedule played out.

Random eats:

cinnamon protein cake with mango

post workout protein! I had a ripe mango that I cut up the night before and instead of pulverizing it into a mango protein shake I decided to have cake! Can you blame me?

afternoon snack- cucumber, red onion, tomato, apple cider vinegar, raw agave, salt n’ peppa

(unseen- a massive lettuce leaf and a couple handfuls of raisins)

refreshing and yummy 🙂

and then there was dinner

Not going to lie, I have actually had this 2 or 3 days in a row. It’s gooooood. Plus I’m pretty much just obsessed with this sauce!

Cauliflower Rice with Pasta Sauce

1/3 head of cauliflower (probably even better steamed but I had it raw baby)

1/2 cup of Eden Organic Pizza/Pasta sauce

1 T nutritional yeast

1/4 tomato (chopped)

1/4 red pepper (chopped)

salt n’ peppa

I was trying to get my raw veggies in so I just warmed up the sauce and left the veggies uncooked. But I know this would prob be wayyyy better with some steamed cauliflower and sauteed tomato and red pepper with garlic. Oh gosh now I’m salivating…

And dessert?

You’ll just have to wait for my next post, but I’ll give you a hint- I’ve been doing some fun variations on my fav

4 Responses to “cauliflower rice + pasta sauce”

  1. couchpotatoathlete July 21, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    It looks like there is a nice crust on top of your cauliflower, or is that the pasta sauce? It reminded me of au gratin potatoes — yum!

    • bananasforbananas July 21, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

      that’s the pasta! My cauliflower was raw but this would be amazing with some steamed or roasted cauliflower!

  2. Michelle July 21, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Your cake looks spectacular! Yummm 🙂

  3. sophia July 21, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    I used to eat 5 meals a day, but it got annoying…I hated not feeling hungry for my next meal! I hope you find a nice balance, though. Maybe just make it into 3 meals and 2 small snacks?

Leave a Reply

