Homemade Protein Bars

26 Jul

As you may or may not remember, my beloved sun warrior stash has been depleted.

Although I bought some online, I had it sent to my house instead of my apartment and so it sits at my parents home…all alone…in the dark pantry…unused *tear*

So to supplement my protein needs for the time being, I went out and purchased the cheapest vegan/non-soy proteinย  money could buy.

well I guess I got what my money paid for because this stuff tastes like poop ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Now let’s add the fact that the magic bullet is broken and I’m too lazy to clean the blender so smoothies are no longer happening. So what’s a girl to do when she needs her protein fix?

make my own protein bars that’s what!!!

I made two different types. The first one (closest) I made with nuts but since I feel like I am eating too many nuts I wanted to make a second version without nuts so I added puffed millet cereal instead.

I also not really a fan of this cereal. I know, I know, it broke my heart too because I love my millet bread. Oh well, you win some you lose some.

Now before I get to the recipes, I’m going to warn you that the nut free recipe is still a work in progress but I supppppose I will share the recipe with you anyways ๐Ÿ™‚

with nuts on the right

Homemade Protein Bar (with nuts)

1/2-2/3 cup raw almonds

4 dates

3 T protein powder

1 T cacao nibs

dash of cinnamon

water as needed

put protein powder, dates, cinnamon and nuts in food processor and process. nuts and dates are ground add 1 tsp of water then process. continue to do this until dough will stay together in a ball (DON”T ADD TOO MUCH WATER). at the very end add the cacao nibs and process just to mix it throughout. then empty onto foil and form into bar shape. Cut into desired size and enjoy your chemical/preservative free and cheap homemade bar!

Homemade Nut-Free Protein Bar

6 dates

3 T protein powder

1/2 cup puffed millet cereal

1 T cacao nibs

dash of cinnamon

process the dates, cinnamon, and protein powder and when well combined begin gradually adding water as needed just as before. after the dough turns into a consistency where it can easily form a ball, add the cacao nibs and process just to mix. empty onto foil with millet cereal already laid out on foil and begin incorporating the cereal into the dough by hand. after fully incorporated, form into bar shape and cut into desired size.

* just as a reference I ended up with 2 bars

size comparison of larabar to the nut-free bar= mine is bigger ๐Ÿ™‚

oops! I had actually eaten half of the nut bar but I bet you thought it was whole the entire time ha!

What’s your favorite packaged snack or protein bar?

4 Responses to “Homemade Protein Bars”

  1. glutenfreemuse July 26, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Great recipe! I’ll have to give them a try ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Alyssa

  2. Michelle July 27, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    I actually LOVE puffed millet cereal. There is a fabulous nutty taste when you use almond milk with it.

    • bananasforbananas July 27, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

      hmm I’ll have to try that. Just plain it tastes and smells like lightly salted popcorn to me and it even says there’s no added salt! weird.

    • bananasforbananas July 29, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

      I tried the puffed millet with almond milk and stevia and it was actually really good! It tasted just like marzipan actually, thank you so much! I’ve been eating it non-stop now lol

Leave a Reply

